Pro-Jagan Cong MLAs, MPs to quit

Pro-Jagan Cong MLAs, MPs to quit

Leaders protest CBI action against parliamentarian from Kadapa

Pro-Jagan Cong MLAs, MPs to quit

Planning to plunge the beleaguered N Kiran Kumar Reddy-led Congress government in the state into yet another crisis, two MPs, 28 MLAs and 2 MLCs supporting Jagan announced their decision to resign both fr­om the Congress and the Assembly.

They plan to visit the Assembly in a group on Monday and submit their resignations to Speaker Nadendla Manohar blaming the Kiran Kumar Reddy government and the Centre for maligning the good name of their leader Y S Rajasekhara Reddy and also the vindictive action on Jagan.

The resignation move is in protest against the inclusion of  Y S Rajasekhar Reddy’s name  in the FIR filed against Y S Jaganmohan Reddy as part of “commission of cognizable offences of criminal conspiracy, cheating, criminal trust, falsification of accounts and criminal misconduct.”

In a joint statement issued after a marathon meeting at the YSR Congress party office here, the Congress legislators — including some former members of the YSR cabinet — said they would resign from both the Congress party and also their Assembly seat.
Twenty-four legislators besides two MPs and two MLCs attended the meeting.
Four other MLAs, who were not present in the meeting, are also supporting the resignation move.

YSR Congress spokesman Pilli Subhas Chandra Bose said many more could join them at the Assembly on Monday.

MPs Sabbam Hari (Anakapalli), Mekapati Rajmohan Reddy (Nellore), legislators Jayasudha and  Konda Surekha (both already resigned), Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose, Sucharitha, Sobha Nagi Reddy (PRP), Balineni Srinivas Reddy, Prasada Raju, B Sivaprasada Reddy, N Parthasarathi Redy, Gurnatha Reddy, Putalapattu Ravi, Adinarayana Reddy, Katasani Rambhupal Reddy, Dharmana Krsihna Das, Alla Nani, Golla Babu Rao, N Sesha Reddy, T Balaraju, Nallapureddy Pra­sanna Kumar Reddy (TDP) Tellam Balaraju, Korla Bharathi, K Srinivasulu, Srikantha Reddy, Adinarayana Reddy, D Chandrasekhara Reddy, Chennakesava Reddy and Mekapati Chandrasekhara Reddy, and two MLCs Jupudi Prabhakar Rao and Padmavathi, were among those announced their decision to resign.

However, the opposition TDP rubbished the resignations as a drama and said the speaker would eventually trash all the resignations as they are emotional in nature. “Jagan is doing this only to divert the attention of the people from the ongoing CBI inquiry,” said TDP MLC Babu Rajendra Prasad.