Arrows shoot down HASC with late strike

Arrows shoot down HASC with late strike

Battling Mumbai FC hold Salgaocar goalless

The only goal of the match was scored by Jibon Singh who converted from the spot in the 89th minute after Malswamfela was brought down inside the box.

Arrows, who have lost much of their side of last season to other I-League clubs, dominated large periods of the game and but for some good defending, could have ended up with a much better result. HASC, who have also lost some key players in the close season, will now need maximum points from the rest of their two matches to have a realistic hope of qualifying for the semifinals.  In Kolkata, Sporting Clube De Goa edged out Air India 2-1. Kailo Karpeh scored in the 49th minute for the Sporting with Ogba Kalu finding the winner in the 63rd. Air India scored through Henry Ezeh in the 17th minute through a penalty.

I-League champions Salgaocar were held to a goalless draw by Mumbai FC but Prayag United rode on Josimar da Silva’s strike to beat Chirag United Kerala 1-0 in their respective Federation Cup matches here on Sunday. While the likes of Ryuji Sueoka and Chidi Edeh failed to find the net for Salgaocar despite trying everything, Josimar sealed the issue for Prayag when he scored off a rebound on the 17th minute at the Balewadi Sports Complex.

With Sueoka partnering Chidi upfront, Rocus Lamare and Mehrajuddin Wadoo did all the hardwork for Salgaocar in midfield. Mehraj played all over while Rocus caught the eye as he fed Ishfaq Ahmed and Chidi on a number of occasions. On the other hand, the Mumbai FC defence stayed as stubborn as ever -- Kingsley Chioma and Faisal Rehman -- the two central defenders not giving the Salgaocar strike force time and space.

Karim did induct some fresh legs in the second half, with Gilbert Oliviera and Anthony Barbosa coming in midway into the second session, but even they were not able to break the deadlock. Three minutes later, Chidi hit the upright after Gilbert had sneaked in past a couple of defenders on the left. In the day’s other match, the Prayag midfielders coordinated well between themselves, feeding the strikers on a regular basis. The goal came after Kayne Vincent’s free-kick rebounded for an alert Josimar to slot the ball home.

Churchill score

Kolkata side Mohammedan Sporting held title holders East Bengal to a 1-1 draw, while Goa’s Churchill Brothers got past Shillong Lajong FC 3-1 in Saturday’s late matches.
Mohammedan Sporting scored through Cyprian Stanley (20th) while Sanju Pradhan scored the equaliser in the 53rd minute.  For Churchill, Robero Silva (57th), Bothiang Haokipe (70th) restored parity for Lajong but the Goan side hit back through Henri Rebienot and Opara Ndu (87th).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)