Abhijeeth show fuels SJCC win

Abhijeeth show fuels SJCC win

Abhijeeth of SJCC hits one to the fence. DH Photo

Put into bat by SBMJCE who won the toss, St Joseph’s posted a healthy 158/7 on board courtesy a quickfire 39 off 25 balls from Abhijeeth. SJCC lost their first wicket early with Nihal Unni getting out with the score on 14. However, led by Abhijeeth’s cracking innings, Bharath Prashanth’s effective 33 and supported by some flashy strokes from Neelesh and Kunal Nagpal in the final few overs, SJCC ensured they were defending a competitive target.

SBMJCE’s bowlers picked up wickets at regular intervals but kept leaking runs at the same time. Karthik was the pick of the bowlers, scalping three wickets for 34 runs. Deuti claimed a couple of wickets while Mangalam and Srikanth got one wicket apiece.

Chasing a tricky 159 for victory, SBMJCE were off to a flying start with Abhishek and Prajwal sending the bowlers on a leather hunt. Boundaries came thick and fast but Prajwal perished trying to play across the line to Abhijeeth. After that, SBMJCE kept losing wickets but Mangalam kept SBMJCE’s hopes afloat playing an array of attractive shots to make the Josephites think. But SJCC’s Sachin dashed all hopes that SBMJCE had when he picked up Mangalam who was caught by Kunal Nagpal in the 11th over.

SBMJCE’s Gautam and Deuti then threw their bat around for a while to delay the inevitable as the last five wickets fell for 46 runs to allow St Joseph’s register victory in the 19th over.

Brief scores: (League): SJCC: 159/7 in 20 overs (Abhijeeth 39, Bharath 33; Karthik 3-34, Deuti 2-16) bt SBMJCE: 143 all out in 18.2 overs (Mangalam 24; Neelesh 3-23, Sachin 2-19, Sri Krishna AS 2-18).

Vijaya College: 136/9 in 20 overs (Srikrishna 32, Varun Prakash 30; Joel 2-12, Ashwin 2-21, Avaikaran 2-28) lt to Loyola College 140/5 in 18.3 overs (Murali 60; Zohar 2-22, Bhuvaneshwar 2-30).

(Knockout): Maharajas College, Kochi: 116 all out in 20 overs (Nikith 3-23, Shashindra 2-8) lt to SBMJC, JC Road: 117/6 in 19.1 overs (Dinesh B 27, Rahul B 26; Saddam 2-14).
TTL College, Mysore: 142/10 in 20 overs (Rohit VT 49, Somashekaran 27; Suhail 3-28, Girish 2-11) lt to Presidency College: 142/10 in 20 overs (Patrick 34; Uttam Raj 4-33, Somashekaran  3-27); (Presidency win through bowl out after tie).