Players to go under hammer today

Players to go under hammer today

BCCI bars non-State players from playing in the two-week long tournament

But the dwindled levels of excitement notwithstanding, KSCA authorities insisted the stage was set for an exhilarating auction procedure on Friday.

“The BCCI Working Committee decided that outstation players, three per team as per our plans, will not be allowed to play in the KPL. Hopefully, we can explore that option from next year onwards. But we have to keep hoping for a better turn till the last minute,” Vinay Mrithunjaya, a member of the BCCI’s Finance Commitee, said.

The BCCI move has left three slots vacant for each team, and Mrithunjaya said a decision regarding this will be taken at a later stage. He added that the cap for the 48 elite players, six for each of the eight franchises, had been increased from Rs 6 lakh to Rs 7 lakh. The ceiling for a maximum of nine second-tier players whom the franchises can aqcuire by their choice remained at Rs 4 lakh.

The existing minimum amount to be spent on the elite players is Rs 5 lakh, and Mrithunjaya said a final call on the sum will be taken on the morning of the auction. “A decision on the combined ceiling for the top players will be taken on auction day.

Franchises can utilise the money remaining from the auction to buy second-tier players,” he noted. The auction will begin at 9.30 am and is expected to be completed by 2.00 pm.

The auction, to be conducted by Charu Sharma, will adopt the draw of lots method under which the auctioneer will pick the players without attributing priority to any particular name. Six people, including the owner, will be allowed to represent each franchise, with bids to increase by Rs 5,000.

Mrithunjaya said the organisers had decided to conduct more matches in Mysore. “It was earlier decided that we will conduct four matches in Mysore over two days. But now, that has been increased to six matches over three days (September 18, 19, 20). The teams will have to finalise their names, logos and other formalities two weeks prior to the start of the tournament to be held from September 9 to 23,” he said.

Apart from Belgaum (Belgaavi Panthers) and Gulbarga (Bijapur Bulls), Mrithunjaya said three more franchises had proposed their names. They are: Hubli/Dharwad (Shamanur Davanagere Diamonds), Bangalore Urban: (Bangalore Brigaders) and Shimoga (Malnad Gladiators).