Voting for five seats today

Voting for five seats today

BSYs Cabinet minister contesting in Govindrajnagar constituency

PRECAUTION: Poll officers wearing masks seen carrying EVMs to their respective booths for the Govindrajnagar Assembly constituency by-polls in Bangalore on Monday. DH PHOTO

Govindrajnagar constituency in Bangalore has attracted more attention than other constituencies as Somanna, a minister in the Yeddyurappa cabinet is contesting. He is facing a tough fight from Priya Krishna, a first timer. As 24 candidates are in the constituency, two electronic voting machines will be used in polling booths.

The last by-elections to eight Assembly constituencies brought the much needed stability to the ruling BJP. However, in this by-polls, it is not so. A stable BJP is taking on the Congress and the JD(S).

More than for the BJP, the elections are important for the Congress. Because barring the Ramnagaram seat, the remaining four - Kollegal, Channapatna, Chittapur and Govindarajnagar, were held by the Congress in the 2008 Assembly elections.

Unlike in the recent elections, the Congress is a united house when it comes to campaigning for the by-polls. While the BJP and the Congress have contested all the five seats, the JD(S) has no candidate in Govindarajnagar.

For the JD(S), retaining the Ramnagaram seat is a challenge. JD(S) leaders H D Deve Gowda and his son H D Kumaraswamy have campaigned extensively in Ramnagaram realising that the BJP candidate Narayana Gowda is a potential threat to their party candidate K Raju.

Congress fort
If the JD(S) is struggling to retain Ramnagaram seat, the Congress is doing the same in the reserved constituencies of Chittapur and Kollegal. Chittapur is the Congress’ fort.
Union Minister Mallikarjun Kharge’s son Priyank is trying to make a maiden entry to the Legislative Assembly from here.

But the BJP candidate Valmiki Nayak has become a stumbling block for Priyank. Kharge has turned out to be his son’s perfect election manager.

Channapatna and Kollegal too witnessed a high voltage campaign. Channapatna is witnessing a triangular contest where C P Yogeeshwara has done his best to retain the seat. In this strong Congress’ fort, S Jayanna of the Congress is taking on Balraj of JD(S) and G N Nanjundaswamy of BJP.

* Chittapur
* Govindrajnagar
* Ramnagaram
* Channapatna
* Kollegal
* Total candidates      71
* Total booths     1,112

IN govindrajnagar                                    
* Candidates - 24
* Voters - 2.78 lakhs
* Men - 1.48 lakhs
* Women - 1.24 lakhs
* Polling booths - 217
* EVMs - 2 in each booth

The State Government has declared holiday in the limits of five constituencies going for by-poll on Tuesday. The holiday applies to all offices of Central, State government, schools, colleges (including aided institutions), factories, local bodies, boards and corporations in the constituencies. The government declared holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act.

Violation of MCC
The Election Commission has registered 47 cases against political parties in connection with the violation of the model code of conduct during the campaign. Of them 15 are registered against the BJP, 11 against the Congress, five against the JD(S), two against the BSP and 14 against others.

The commission has seized materials worth Rs 18.35 lakh used to lure voters . The commission has booked two cases in connection with seizure of Rs 5.69 lakh in cash and 112 cases in connection with seizure of liquor worth Rs 11.04 lakh.

Indentity cards to vote
The Election Commission has ordered voters should produce valid photo identity cards before the presiding officer in polling booths. Those voters who have not obtained the photo identity cards may exercise their right by producing any of these following records

* Passport
* Driving licence
* Income Tax Identity cards
* Service Identity cards with photograph issued by state/central government or PSUs or PLCs
* Passbooks with photos issued by public sector banks/ post offices/ kissan passbooks (accounts opened on or before June 30, 2009)
* Student identity cards with photographs issued by recognised education institutions on or before June 30, 2009
* Property documents with photo
* Ration cards with photo
* Caste certificates with photos issued on or before June 30, 2009
* Pension documents with photo
* Freedom fighter identity cards
* Arms licences with photos issued on or before June 30, 2009
* Certificate of physical handicap issued on or before June 30, 2009
* Ex-servicemen CSD canteen cards with photo
* Sandhya Suraksha Scheme card with photo
* Job cards with photos under NREGS
* Yashaswini card with photo
* Service identity cards issued by local bodies
* Senior citizens cards with photo
* Computer generated temporary ration cards in original issued on or before June 30, 2009
* Health Insurance smart cards