Kvitova is WTA player of the year

Kvitova is WTA player of the year

Nadal, Federer in same ATP group

Petra Kvitova

The Czech, who ended the year ranked second, picked up four prizes in total on Monday following a remarkable 12 months.

"This season has been simply a dream," the 21-year-old said in a statement after being voted to the top prize ahead of world number one Caroline Wozniacki.

"It is an incredible honour to win the Player of the Year award and join the ranks of some of the best players that have ever played the sport, especially Martina Navratilova.
Kvitova also bagged the Most Improved Player award and the fair play prize, while fans voted her the Breakthrough Player of the Year.

Kveta Peschke completed a good day for the Czech Republic when she and Slovenian partner Katarina Srebotnik earned their first award for Doubles Team of the Year.
Sabine Lisicki of Germany scooped the Comeback Player of the Year honour.
Nadal faces Federer

Old foes Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer will meet in the group stage of the ATP World Tour finals starting in London on Sunday while world number one Novak Djokovic will clash with number three Andy Murray.

Nadal and Federer are joined in Group B by Frenchman Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and American Mardy Fish.

Djokovic has been drawn in Group A alongside Briton Murray, Spaniard David Ferrer and Czech Tomas Berdych.

Meanwhile, Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi have been placed in Group A along with three-time winners Mike and Bob Bryan of the United States in the doubles’ section. Rohan Bopanna and Aisam-ul-Haq Qureshi will fight it out with Michael Llodra and Nenad Zimonjic and two other teams in  Group B.

Groupings: Group A: Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray, David Ferrer, Thomas Berdych.
Group B: Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Mardy Fish.

Doubles: Group A: Bob Bryan/ Mike Bryan, Mahesh Bhupathi/ Leander Paes, Robert Lindstedt/ Horia Tecau, Jurgen Melzer/Philipp Petzschner.

Group B: Michael Llodra/ Nenad Zimonjic, Daniel Nestor/ Max Mirnyi, Rohan Bopanna/ Aisam-ul-Haq Qureshi, Mariusz Fyrstenberg/ Marcin Matkowski.