Bindra pips Narang

Bindra fired a total of 700.2 points, including a superb 104.2 in the final, to bag the gold medal, while the Hyderabad-based Narang (696.6), representing Air India, secured the silver ahead of bronze winner Chain Singh of the Army who shot 695.7. Sanjeev Rajput of Navy, who has already qualified for next year’s London Olympics in the 50M rifle 3-position, finished fifth with 694.3 to his credit behind the top three and P T Raghunath of Navy (694.4).

There was a big surprise in the 50M rifle 3-position event when MP’s Rajkumari upstaged world prone champion Tejaswini Sawant of Maharashtra and Lajja Gauswami of Gujarat for the gold. Rajkumari totalled 676.0 to clinch the title ahead of Tejaswini (673.9) and Lajja (673.2).

Results: Men’s 10M air rifle: 1. Abhinav Bindra (Punjab) 700.2 (596+104.2); 2. Gagan Narang (AI) 696.6 (595+101.6); 3. Chain Singh (Army) 695.7 (594+101.7).
Women’s 50M Rifle 3-Position: Rajkumari (MP) 676.0 (578+98); 2. Tejaswini Sawant (Mah) 673.9 (571+102.9); 3. Lajja Gauswami (Guj) 673.2 (576+97.2).

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)