MPs' declaration on graft money

MPs' declaration on graft money

Out of the 115 BJP MPs in Lok Sabha, 112 submitted their declarations, while 50 of the 51 MPs submitted their declaration in the Rajya Sabha on Friday.

“One of our MPs is now the chief minister of Karnataka while two of our MPs from that State have been suspended. In Rajya Sabha, of our 51 MPs, 50 have submitted their declarations.

Ram Jethmalani could not reach Delhi today as his daughter is critically ill and in hospital,” senior BJP leader M Venkaiah Naidu said.

Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj, along with party leaders L K Advani and Yashwant Sinha, met Speaker Meira Kumar and submitted the declarations of party  MPs, he added, hoping that MPs from other parties would too follow suit.

The BJP also wants an amendment to the Peoples’ Representation Act so that candidates contesting elections make a similar declaration on black money in foreign banks, Naidu said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)