Jeev looks to end title drought in Thailand

Jeev looks to end title drought in Thailand

The trio will be among the strong line-up at the Amata Spring Country Club consisting of Japanese star Ryo Ishikawa and Major winners Darren Clarke and Charl Schwartzel in the $1 million Asian Tour season-ending event.

World number three Lee Westwood will also feature in the event with a host of Asian Tour stars including three-time Asian Tour number one Thongchai Jaidee of Thailand, Tetsuji Hiratsuka of Japan and Spaniard Sergio Garcia.

Dyson launched his career in Asia when he won the 2000 Asian Tour Order of Merit courtesy of winning three titles in his rookie year. He went on to ply his trade in Europe where he has won six titles, two of which came this year in the Netherlands and Ireland.

Ranked 32 in the world, Dyson is riding a rich vein of form heading into the Thailand Golf Championship where he has seven top-10s this year and an impeccable track record in Asia.

Korea’s Kim, who has one Asian Tour title under his belt, will be looking of continuing his stellar form which saw him lift his fourth title in Japan this year. His run of good form, highlighted by nine top-10s earned him a spot on the 2011 Presidents Cup International Team.

Kim, ranked 23rd in the world, also played in all four of the Majors this year with his best finish in tied 30th place in the US Open and will be keen to carry his experience to the Championship where he will be one of the hot favourites to win.

India’s Singh, a two-time Order of Merit winner, will be looking to ending a title drought which dates back to 2008. A series of injuries curtailed his season last year but he looks to be returning to his best form as he claimed two tied fourth place finishes on the Asian Tour this season.

Hiratsuka, winner of the Asia Pacific Panasonic Open, will bank on his winning memories in Thailand where he won two out of three Asian Tour titles in the country last year.

Kiradech Aphibarnrat of Thailand, Gaganjeet Bhullar of India, Md Siddikur Rahman of Bangladesh and Lu Wei-chih of Chinese Taipei, all winners on the Asian Tour will also feature in the tournament.

The winner of the Thailand Golf Championship will earn a spot in the World Golf Championship-Bridgestone Invitational 2012.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)