Karnataka enter semis

Karnataka enter semis

On conclusion of the league stage, Assam (Group A), Tamil Nadu Combined Districts (Group B), Karnataka (Group C) and Hyderabad (Group D) advanced to the semis by topping their respective groups.

The two-day semifinals are on Aug 25 and 26 while the final will be played Aug 28 and 29. Karnataka meet Hyderabad while Assam take on Combined Districts.

Karnataka, who had dismissed Mumbai for 230 on Saturday, made 234 for six in 60.3 overs with CM Gautam (53) and Amit Varma (65 not out) doing the bulk of the scoring. Hyderabad topped Group D on better run-rate after a two-way tie with Saurashtra.

Hyderabad easily overcame Kerala with openers T Suman (84) and Abhinav Kumar (110 not out) puting on 167 runs to overhaul Kerala’s total of 238 with nine wickets to spare.

Meanwhile, Saurashtra had it easy against Orissa who were shot out for 130 while chasing 329.

New Zealand A, already out of contention for a semifinal berth, scored a consolation win against Baroda.

Brief Scores: Mumbai: 230 all out in 80.4 overs lt to Karnataka: 234/6 in 60.3 (C Gautam 53, Amit Varma 65 n.o.. Stuart Binny 33; Rahil Shiekh 3-49).

Assam: 257 all out in 74.4 overs bt Madhya Pradesh: 237 all out in 83.4 overs (Anand Singh 40, Manoj Singh 48, Rameez Khan 75; Arnel Konwar 3-58).

Vidarbha: 238 all out in 88.4 overs lt to TNCA President’s XI: 239/6 in 88.1 overs (Ashwin Venkataraman 88 n.o., R Naresh 42; Akshay Wakare 3-65, Ravi Jangid 3-79).

New Zealand A: 240 all out in 86.5 overs bt Baroda: 168 all out (Pinal Shah 44; Nathan McMullam 3-38, Tarun Nethula 4-44).

Tamil Nadu Combined Districts: 333/9 in 90 overs bt Andhra: 258 all out in 81.4 overs (A Rakesh 50, SS Moshin Basha 44, Bharath Reddy 42; S Suresh Kumar 5-36).

Saurashtra: 329 all out in 89.4 overs bt Orissa: 130 all out in 50.3 overs (Subith Biswal 52 n.o., Rakesh Dhuruv 6-45, Ravindra Jadeja 3-49).

Kerala: 238 all out in 89.2 overs lt to Hyderabad: 239/1 in 37.2 overs (T Suman 84, Abhinav Kumar 110 n.o.; AT Rayudu 38 n.o.).