Priya Dutt's election upheld

Priya Dutt's election upheld

The Bombay High Court today upheld the election of Congress MP Priya Dutt from Mumbai North-Central constituency in 2009.

Justice S C Dharmadhikari dismissed the petition filed by activist, Indur Chhugani, who wanted to contest the 2009 election against Dutt from the same constituency but his nomination papers were rejected by the returning officer.

Chhugani had approached the high court challenging Dutt's election in 2009 alleging that his nomination was rejected on frivolous grounds.

According to petition, the nomination papers were rejected by returning officer Mahendra Warbhuvan as Chhugani had forgotten to fill the name of the constituency.

"The handbook for returning officers clearly says clerical errors such as writing the wrong election year or names are not grounds for rejecting nominations," Chhugani argued.

His petition also contended that Warbhuvan was returning officer for only the Mumbai North-Central seat and hence, there was no question of candidates from other constituencies filing nominations before him.

The court, however, refused to accept Chhugani's arguments and dismissed his petition.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)