B'lore City bag title

B'lore City bag title

By virtue of the one point they picked up for having conceded the lead, Bangalore City topped the six-team round-robin standings with 13 points, one ahead of Mofussil XI who finished runners-up.

Bangalore City began the final morning of the two-day clash at 33 without loss in reply to Mofussil XI’s 333 all out, but were undone by an outstanding spell of bowling from Daniel Sequiere, who picked up eight for 69. Despite S Vinodh’s 91, Bangalore City could only muster 221, though by then, they had already assured themselves of the title.

In the short passage of play possible to the close, Mofussil XI indulged themselves through Nischith Raj (50 n.o.) and J Yogesh (68 n.o.) to finish on 159 for one in just 28 overs.

Bangalore Zone finished third with 11 points after grabbing a 12-run lead over President’s XI in a high-scoring tie at the NAL grounds.

Brief scores: At BEL grounds: Mofussil XI: 333 all out in 83.5 overs and 159/1 in 28 overs (Nischith Raj 50 n.o., J Yogesh 68 n.o.) drew Bangalore City XI: 221 all out in 51.2 overs (S Vinodh 91, Nishanth Hegde 42, Arjun Shetty 40;  K Summith 2-66, Daniel Sequiere 8-69). Mofussil XI 3 pts, Bangalore City 1.

At NAL grounds: Bangalore Zone XI: 371 all out in 85.3 overs drew President’s XI: 359 all out in 75.5 overs (Rahul Bhatkal 178, Hardik Munoth 38; MK Girish 4-97, S Rohith 4-71). Bangalore Zone 3 pts, President’s XI 1.

At IAF grounds: Combined Mofussil XI: 289 all out in 75.1 overs drew Combined City XI: 333/4 in 90 overs (S Abhijit 46, SS Darshan 136 n.o., Karan Rao 106; Imran Khan 4-57). Combined City 3 pts, Combined Mofussil 1.

Final standings: Bangalore City XI (13 pts) 1; Mofussil XI (12) 2; Bangalore Zone (11) 3; Combined City XI (10) 4; President’s XI (8) 5; Combined Mofussil (6) 6.