300 golfers for KGA Club qualifying tournament

300 golfers for KGA Club qualifying tournament

Over 300 amateur golfers will be seen competing for a place on the Puravankara Bangalore amateur team that will represent the city alongside India's top professionals in the richest domestic golf event on the PGTI Circuit - the Louis Philippe Cup.

The club qualifier to be held at Karnataka Golf Association (KGA) over two days - January 25th and 26th - is the second amateur club qualifying event here for the Puravankara Bangalore Team.

The winning amateur golfer from Karnataka Golf Association will get a chance to team up alongside Panasonic Open winner Anirban Lahiri, Manav Jaini, who has had three top five finishes on the Asian Tour in the last year, and upcoming Bangalore based pro Abhishek Jha.

They will play for the City pro-am title to be held on March 7th and 8th at the Louis Philippe Cup.

With tremendous response from amateur golfers in the city, the qualifier in KGA will be held over two days, with approximately 150 golfers competing on each day, including leading amateur golfers of KGA, David D'Souza, Jaibir Singh, Sumit Rathor and Hitesh N Joshi.

One Winner from KGA will join B K Satish, the qualifier from Eagleton on the Puravankara Bangalore amateur team. The Louis Philippe Cup, with its Rs 1.20 crore purse, will be the richest domestic event on the PGTI calendar.

All the top ranked golfers on the PGTI circuit including former Asian Tour Player of the Year Jyoti Randhawa (Gurgaon), European Tour regular Shiv Kapur (Delhi), two time European Tour winner SSP Chowrasia (Kolkata), two time Asian Tour winner Gaganjeet Bhullar (Chandigarh), 2011 Asian Tour winner Anirban Lahiri (Bangalore), and current No 1 in the Rolex-PGTI rankings Chiragh Kumar (Delhi) have confirmed their participation in the tournament. With the pro team of 3 golfers already announced, Puravankara Bangalore is awaiting two more qualifiers who will join B K Satish from Eagleton on the amateur team.