Krishna brushes aside Prasad to enter semis

Krishna brushes aside Prasad to enter semis

GM Nischitha in womens last four

Krishna warded off a soft challege from Venkatesh Prasad 21-15, 21-16 en route to his singles semifinal berth -- where he was joined by Rohan Castellino, Aditya Prakash and Mohit Kamat -- and teamed up with Ajit Wijetilekk in the doubles section to get past TR Jeevan and Sanjeeth 21-15, 22-20.

Monisha Vinayak, GM Nischitha, Jacqueline Rose Kunnath and Saumya Padhye moved into the final four in the women’s category. While Monisha scored a comprehensive 21-12, 21-14 win over Anagha Unni, Jacqueline had to ward off a stiff challenge from V Ruth Misha before winning the match 7-21, 22-20, 21-19 to book their semifinal berths.
Jacqueline, who lost the first game at 7-21 came back strongly in the second game to take the match into decider. She kept her cool in the final game to win it 21-19.

Quarterfinal results: Men: SDS Krishna bt Venkatesh Prasad 21-15, 21-16; Rohan Castellino bt Harshil Shah 21-12, 21-9; Aditya Prakash bt Ajit Wijetilekk 21-15, 21-19; Mohit Kamat bt Prakash Jolly 21-12, 21-9.

Doubles: Guru Prasad/ Vineet M bt Adarsh/ Anup K 21-5, 21-19; Rishiket Y/ Ninad K bt Shiva Kumar/ Sumeet 18-21, 21-18, 21-19; Ajit/ Krishna bt TR Jeevan/ Sanjeeth 21-15, 22-20; Venkatesh/ Aditya bt Harshil/ D Romit 21-9, 25-23.
Veterans: Jayaram Pai bt K Ashoka 21-8, 21-14; MN Joshi bt Subbarao 21-11, 21-5; PC Thakur bt MM Kurgodi 21-13, 21-11; KP Vasanth Kumar bt Bhaskar Raje Urs 21-5, 21-11.

Doubles: Jayaram/ Vasanth bt Aman/ JB Umesh 21-8, 21-9; Subbarao/ Ullal bt Manjunath/ Kurgodi 21-17, 21-12; PR Harish/ SKB Naidu bt M Srinivas/ Chandrashekar 21-7, 22-20; Ramakrishna/ B Sidney Frank bt Sunder M/ Shiva Prasad.

Women: Monisha Vinayak bt Anagha Unni 21-12, 21-14; GM Nischitha bt Uttara Prakash 21-9, 21-17; Jacqueline Rose Kunnath bt V Ruth Misha 7-21, 22-20, 21-19; Saumya Padhye bt Apoorva Jagadale 21-5, 21-19.

Mixed doubles, semifinal: GM Nischitha/ Anup K bt Ruth Misha/ Vineet M 17-21, 21-15, 21-10; Saumya Padhye/ Guruprasad bt Adfa J/ Venkatesh 21-12, 21-16.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily