JD(S) to protest seeking minimum support price for turmeric

JD(S) to protest seeking minimum support price for turmeric

Protest to be launched at Hanur on February 24

Chamarajanagar district unit of JD(S) has decided to hold protest demonstrations from February 24 in all Assembly constituencies demanding a minimum support price of Rs 15,000 for turmeric.

National executive committee member of JD(S) M Mahadevu said: “Turmeric growers are in distress due to downswing in prices for their produce. The state government has failed to safeguard the interest of farmers. So the party would launch the protest at Hanur on February 24.”

Addressing a press conference here on Monday, he said: “Protests would be held at Kollegal on February 27, at Gundlupet on March 1 and in the city on March 3. The farmers are suffering due to the apathy of farmers. The delay in execution of the Kabini second stage project is unpardonable. Being a border district, Chamarajanagar is backward in education, industries and economically. So the government should consider according special status to the district.”

He urged the authorities concerned to provide drinking water from Cauvery river to all villages in the district. “The government should seriously implement the hut-less taluk scheme initiated by ex-chief minister H D Kumaraswamy. It should initiate steps to buy Jyothi paddy at procurement centres. Our protest would centre around all these issues.” he said.

Stating that the elections for the Chamarajanagar city municipal council would be held next year, he said a seven-member committee comprising party leaders has been constituted to chalk out strategy to win it.

He said two candidates would be selected for each ward under the CMC six months in advance and one of them would be finalised for issue of ticket depending on their performance — to ensure victory for the party.

“If the district has to develop and prosper, JD(S) should come to power, so steps are being taken in this direction,” Mahadevu added.

Former minister Shivanna, M Panchakshari, C Veeresh, Mudnakudu Kumar, Irshadullah and Mangala Shivakumar were present on the occasion.