Levi record helps SA down Kiwis

Levi record helps SA down Kiwis

Opening batsman Richard Levi took advantage of the small boundaries at Seddon Park to blast a world record 13 sixes and guide South Africa to an eight-wicket win over New Zealand to level their Twenty20 series here on Sunday.

Levi, who only made his debut on Friday in Wellington, also brought up the fastest international Twenty20 century off 45 balls as he scored 117 not out to help the visitors chase down New Zealand's 173 for four with four overs to spare.

New Zealand had won the first match of the series in Wellington. The powerfully-built Levi was brutal to a wayward New Zealand attack who bowled into his arc, allowing him to smash the ball across the ropes from mid-off around to deep backward square-leg.

Captain AB de Villiers (39 not out) simply ticked the strike over to the 24-year-old, who wasted little time in bringing up his century when he pushed the ball into the covers for a rare single.

West Indies opener Chris Gayle had held the previous record for sixes in a Twenty20 international with 10, while Gayle and Brendon McCullum had shared the record for fastest century. Both had achieved the mark in 50 balls.

Martin Guptill top-scored for New Zealand with 47 from 35 balls and New Zealand captain McCullum said he felt they had still posted a competitive score.


Nicol (run out)    23
Guptill c A Morkel b De Lange    47
B McCullum c Ontong b Botha    35
Williamson (not out)    28
Franklin c De V’liers b M Morkel    28
De Grandholmme (not out)    3
Extras (B-1, lLB-3, W-5)    9
Total (for 4 wkts, 20 overs)    173
Fall of wickets: 1-37, 2-97, 3-114, 4-159.
Bowling: Botha 4-0-22-1; Tsotsobe 3-0-23-0, M Morkel 4-0-38-1, De Lange 4-0-43-1, Parnell 2-0-15-0, Duminy 3-0-28-0.
Levi (not out)    117
Amla c Franklin b N McCullum    2
Parnell st B McCullum b Nicol    4
De Villiers (not out)    39
Extras (LB-2, W-10)    12
Total (for 2 wkts, 16 overs)    174
Fall of wickets: 1-25, 2-41.
Bowling: N McCullum 2-0-18-1, Bracewell 2-0-37-0, Southee 4-0-40-0, Nicol 1-0-10-1, Hira 4-0-34-0, Mills 2-0-26-0, Franklin 1-0-7-0.