Sarang bags second best programme award

Sarang bags second best programme award

Beary language brings the recognition to radio station

Community Radio Sarang 107.8 FM won the second best programme award for promoting local culture, at first National Awards for Community Radios, in New Delhi. The award is instituted by Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

According to a press release, this is the first time that the Ministry has instituted the awards to recognise and promote the best practices of community radios across the country.

The competition included five categories such as Best Programmes in promoting local culture, adapting creative and innovative content practices, sustainability model, thematic programme, and community engagement sections. Among the currently operationalised 130 community radio stations in India, Community Radio Sarang 107.8FM secured the award in the Best Programme in promoting local culture for its programme in Beary language.

The programme “Beary Harate” is a chat show of Beary women of Mangalore. Women discuss HIV/AIDS, its causes and discusses people’s role in preventing it, in the programme. Beary language is spoken by a small group of local Muslims.

Community Radio Sarang 107.8FM was launched in 2009 September by St Aloysius College, as its social outreach activity. It started broadcasting two hours a day, and gradually increased its broadcast. Currently, Sarang 107.8FM broadcasts 24 hours a day, and is India’s only 24-hour community radio, the release said. Its programmes include health and hygiene, legal awareness programs, promoting Konkani, Tulu, Beary, and Kannada folk songs and others. The radio broadcasts yakshagana, harikatha in Tulu and Kannada, Vovyo, Vers, baal-githam, huminyo, etc in Konkani, agricultural programmes, and other community-oriented theme-based programmes.

The National Community Radio Awards were given at the inauguration of the three-day second National Community Radio Sammelan being held in New Delhi. Dr S Jagatrakshakan, Minister of State for Information & Broadcasting, handed over the awards.