Selection of VCs likely to be delayed

Selection of VCs likely to be delayed

The appointment of full-time vice chancellors to Bijapur Women University and Hampi University is likely to be delayed further. A search committee to shortlist the probable candidates for the two posts has not yet been formed.

Dr Geetha Bali retired as the V-C of Women’s University on January 28 and Dr A Murigeppa retired as the V-C of Hampi Kannada University on February 14. The two vacant posts are now filled by acting vice chancellors.

Vice chancellors are selected by a search committee comprising four members – a representative of the University Grants Commission (UGC), Governor, a representative of the State government and the Syndicate.

Usually, the committee is constituted well in advance and a new incumbent is identified by the time the vacancy is created. Sources told Deccan Herald that the formation of the search committee has been delayed since the UGC is yet to nominate its member.

According to a source, the UGC has recommended its nominee for the search panel to identify a V-C for women’s varsity, last week.

However, the Commission is yet to finalise its nominee for the search panel for Hampi Kannada varsity.

Meanwhile, the list of aspirants for the two posts too has been growing by the day. Some have already forwarded their bio-data to the Department of Higher Education.

The names of Dr Chaya Degaonkar, Gulbarga University; Dr Meena Chandavarkar, Director of Dharwad University Academic Staff College; Prof Usharani and Prof Padmashekhar of University of Mysore and Prof Gayathri of Bangalore University are doing rounds for the post of Women’s University V-C. Similarly as many as 14 aspirants are said to be in the race for the post of Hampi University V-C.

Dr Hi Chi Boralingaiah, Dr Karigowda Beechanahalli, Prof Aravinda Malagatti, Prof Basavaraj Sabarad and Prof Chinnappagowda are some of the names doing the rounds.

Some more are said to be awaiting the formation of the search committee.

The search committee will recommend three names to the State government and the governor will appoint the vice chancellor on the recommendation of the government.

The tenure of the Women’s varsity V-C is four years and that of the Kannada varsity V-C is three years. However, the governor can extend the term by one year.