Mixed day for Indian riders at Asian fiesta

Mixed day for Indian riders at Asian fiesta

With dry weather prevailing following heavy overnight rains, Rajini and Moses, both representing Red Rooster Racing team, and on a Yamaha, enjoyed a good outing, though they were well below the pace of the front runners.

However, other Indians fared rather poorly with T K Vishwanath finishing 18th, Harry Sylvester 21st and Karthik 22nd in the Underbone 115cc class qualifying round. While Rajini clocked a best lap of one minute, 48.137 seconds, Moses had 1:50.709 with average speeds of 123.5 kmph and 120.6 kmph, respectively.

Their timings did not compare well those of the top three — Malaysians Decha Kaisat (1:45.720), Md Zamri Baba (1:46.604) and championship leader Chalermpol Polamai of Thailand (1:47.294).

Rajini said he was not too happy with the handling and the set-up of his bike. “I did not do well in the practice sessions, but was better in the qualifying run. We got the bikes only yesterday and so, we haven’t had much track time. Hopefully, I will be able to clock better timing tomorrow,” Rajini said after the qualifying session.

Moses admitted that the pace was missing, especially exiting corners. He was also rather tentative with the crash in the Japan round still fresh in his mind. “This is just our second year and I would say that we do not have much experience in setting up the bikes, but we are learning all the time. We had to put the bike together after my crash in Japan and I am not very happy with the handling. We will work on the bike tonight and I am hoping that we will be able to meet our target of a top-five finish,” Moses said.

The other Indian in the Underbone 115cc class, Alisha Abdullah finished last among 15 riders with a timing of 2:07.785 while Emmanuel Jebaraj of Ten10 Racing team did not start the qualifying session as his bike was not ready following a crash in the afternoon’s free practice session.

Standings (first qualifying session): SuperSports 600cc: Decha Kraisat (Tha, Yamaha) 1:45.720, 1; Md Zambri Baba (Mal, Yamaha) 1:46.604), 2; Chalempol Plamai (Tha, Yamaha) 1:47.294, 3.

Underbone 115cc: Hocky Krisdianto (Ind, Yamaha) 2:03.340, 1; Mohd Affendi Rosli (Mal, Suzuki) 2:03.600, 2; Worawut Phuttho (Tha) 2:03.622, 3.