Australia announce preliminary World T20 squad

Young paceman James Pattinson was surprisingly left out from Australia's preliminary 30-member squad announced today for the World Twenty20 Championship in Sri Lanka in September.

The 22-year-old Pattinson, who has been impressive since his Test debut against New Zealand last year, was not a part of the initial Australian pace attack which comprises Clint McKay, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Ben Hilfenhaus among others.

Also in the squad are, Mitchell Johnson, Dirk Nannes, Ryan Harris and Ben Laughlin.
"The ICC World Twenty20 will be a fiercely contested tournament. A great deal of flamboyant cricketing talent will be on display and some games will be turned on their heads by 10 minutes of brilliance. The squad announced today is full of talent, enterprise and all-round strength," National Selector John Inverarity said.

"Within the 30 players named is depth and cover for all departments within the team," he added.

The World Twenty20 will on September 18 with the men's competition while the women's matches will begin on September 26.

As with the previous ICC World Twenty20 in 2010, the men's and women's semi-finals and finals will be played as a double-header.

The Australian men's team is in Group B alongside Ireland and West Indies, and its first pool match i against Ireland on September 19.

The Australian women's team is in Group A alongside India, England and Pakistan. The defending champions kick off their campaign against India on September 27.

Australian men's Squad: George Bailey, Travis Birt, Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Ben Laughlin, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Andrew McDonald, Clint McKay, Dirk Nannes, Stephen O'Keefe, Tim Paine, Rob Quiney, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

Australian women's squad: Charlotte Anneveld, Jemma Barsby, Kristen Beams, Alex Blackwell, Melissa Bulow, Erin Burns, Jess Cameron, Nicola Carey, Renee Chappell, Sarah Coyte, Lauren Ebsary, Sarah Elliott, Holly Ferling, Jodie Fields, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jessica Jonassen, Meg Lanning, Sharon Millanta, Beth Mooney, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Leah Poulton, Angela Reakes, Megan Schutt, Lisa Sthalekar, Kara Sutherland, Gemma Triscari, Elyse Villani.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0