Traffic restrictions for President's swearing-in ceremony

Traffic restrictions for President's swearing-in ceremony

In view of the swearing-in ceremony of President-elect Pranab Mukherjee on Wednesday, Delhi Traffic Police will impose restrictions on roads around Rashtrapati Bhavan and Parliament House.

A number of important dignitaries, including diplomats and media are scheduled to attend the ceremony between 10 am and 2 pm on Wednesday. There will also be a number of ceremonial activities in and around Rashtrapati Bhavan and the Parliament House on the occasion.

“In this regard, elaborate security and traffic arrangements have been made to ensure traffic circulation, pedestrians’ movement, safety of visitors as well as that all the dignitaries and invitees reach the venue on the time and the function is held smoothly,” said Satyendra Garg, joint commissioner of police (traffic).

The department have also requested motorists and general public to avoid using Vijay Chowk and its North and South Fountain area, Rajpath, Rashtrapati Bhavan upto Janpath, Raisina Road between Rail Bhawan to Parliament House, the stretch of Dalhousie Road, Krishna Menon Marg and Moti Lal Nehru Marg connecting Vijay Chowk.

Half-day in govt offices

The government offices around the Parliament House will remain shut during the first half of Wednesday in view of the swearing-in ceremony of President-elect Pranab Mukherjee, said an official statement.

According to the statement issued by the ministry of personnel, public grievances and pensions, the closure will be due to the swearing-in ceremony in the Central Hall of Parliament at 11:30 am on Wednesday.

“In view of the swearing-in ceremony and traffic restrictions around Parliament House, it has been decided that the government offices located in the buildings in and around North Block and South Block would remain closed for the first half of Wednesday,” it said.

The buildings to remain closed include South Block, North Block, Rashtrapati Bhavan, Parliament House, Rail Bhavan, Krishi Bhavan, Udyog Bhavan and the hutments around Parliament House.

3 Metro stations affected

Metro passengers will face commuting problems on Wednesday during the swearing in ceremony of the 13th President in at the national capital. As per directions from security agencies, Delhi Metro Rail Corporation will restrict movement at three stations namely Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan and Khan Market.

“In view of swearing in ceremony of the President, three Metro stations — Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan, and Khan Market will remain closed for the public from 9 am to 11 am on July 25,” said DMRC. However, interchange will be allowed at the Central Secretariat Metro station.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)