GO: Temples in DK, Udupi perform rituals for rains

Following the direction of the State government to perform special pooja in the temples coming under Muzrai department, several temples performed the ritual for rain, on Friday.

There are 477 temples coming under the Muzrai department in Dakshina Kannada. As many as 39 temples come under ‘A’ category with an income of above Rs 25 lakh, 53 temples in ‘B’ category with income between Rs 5 lakh and Rs 25 lakh and 385 temples in ‘C’ catergory.

An official from Muzrai department said that they received endorsement from the Commissioner of Religious Endomwment department on Thursday, asking all the temples to perform the pooja.

“Accordingly, we have comunicated to the temples. The temples will have to send us a report on the pooja performed.”

Speaking to Deccan Herald, Mangalore City Corporation Commissioner Dr Harish Kumar, who is also the Administrator for Kateel Durgaparameshwari temple, said that Siyalabhisheka was performed in the temple, to invoke Rain God.

“In fact, I had received the government’s circular at 11 am on Friday. But the pooja was performed in the morning itself.”

Special pooja was performed at Mangaladevi temple too.

“As special pooja was performed at Kukke Subrahamanya temple on the day of Nagarapanchami invoking the blessing of the God to shower, no special pooja was performed for rain on Friday,” said an official at the temple.

In Udupi

The special pooja to invoke rain god was performed in as many as 59 temples in Udupi district on Friday.

The sources from District Endowment Department told Deccan Herald that there are as many as 800 temples coming under Muzrai department in the district.

The department had received orders on Friday, following which the department arranged for the special poojas in 59 temples in the district.

Poojas in the remaining temples will be performed on August 2. Special poojas were offered in as many as 21 temples coming under ‘A’ group, 23 temples in ‘B’ category and about 25 temples coming under ‘C’ category.

The major temples where the poojas were held include Sri Mookambika temple, Kollur; Sri Durgaparameshwari temple, Mandarthi; Sri Janardhana Mahakali temple, Ambalpadi; Sri Amrutheshawra temple in Kota; Sri Maranakatte temple in Vandse of Kundapur taluk; Sri Janardhan temple in Kaup; Hosa Marigudi temple in Kaup; Murne Mariamma temple, Kaup and Kadiyali Mahishamardhini temple.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0