Hundreds run for healthy heart

Hundreds run for healthy heart

Hundreds run for healthy heart

Hundreds of red and fluorescent yellow t-shirts ruled the roads of Mangalore on Sunday morning as the World Heart Day Run organised by KMC Hospital began from TMA Pai Convention Centre to KMC Hospital Ambedkar circle. The run passed through M G Road, PVS, Bunts Hostel and ended up in Jyothi.

Former Indian spinner Sunil Joshi, who was the celebrity guest during the event, handed over the torch to Indian walk-racer K M Subrahmanya. MP Nalin Kumar Kateel, MLA Krishna J Palemar, Mangalore City Police Commissioner Manish Kharbikar were present at the starting point.

Addressing the gathering after the walk, at Ambedkar Circle KMC Hospital, Sunil Joshi said that a healthy heart will help one to live a healthy life. Corporation Bank Chairman and Managing Director Ajai Kumar said that creating awareness about heart is the need of hour.


Winners of different contests organised as a part of the event were given away prizes during the occasion. Spoorthi Charitable Trust won the award for best placard while Manipal College of Nursing Sciences won the award for best institution participation.

Hindustan Unilever (Best Corporate Participation and Best Slogan Shouting), Corporation Bank (Event Partner Award), Master Shashmith (Youngest participant award- two and half year old) and Srinivas Kamath (Eldest Participant award- 84 years old) are the other winners of KMC World Heart Day run.

Drawing contest

The winners of the drawing competition that held on September 15 as a part of the event are as follows; Group 1 Category – Shreeraksha (Canara Girls High School, Dongerekery) won the first prize, Ritika S Shetty (Lourdes Central School, Bejai) won second and Pradheesh K (Vidyaniketan, Brahmavar) won the third prize. Consolation prizes were given to Sumith Kumar S, Unnathi Nayak, Amith V Kamath, Ritika Velnati and Garuravdev H B.

Group 2 Category: Shubham R Vernekar (St. Aloysius High School, Kodialbail) won the first prize. Manvitha M K (Vishwamangala High School, Konaje) and M Vaibhav Shenoy (Canara High School, Dongerekery) won the second and third prize respectively. Akash Shetty, Bavish K, Santhosh K, Shrinidhi P and Varun Holla won the consolation prizes.