Jeevan storms into semifinals

Jeevan storms into semifinals

Rishika, Prerna book last-four berth

Top seed Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan sailed into the men’s singles semifinals of the National tennis championships, brushing aside the challenge of fifth seed Ashwin Vijayaraghavan here on Thursday.

The Tamil Nadu player won the quarterfinal 6-1, 6-2 and will next play third seed Siddharth Rawat who came back from a set down to defeat Vaidik Munshaw 1-6, 6-2, 6-1.
The other semifinal will be between Ramkumar Ramanathan and Arjun Khade.

Ramkumar knocked out Delhi’s Saurabh Singh 6-1, 6-2 while Maharashtra’s Khade battled past 11th seed Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash 7-5, 6-4.

In the women’s singles, Sri Vaishnavi Peddireddy knocked out fourth seed Shweta Rana in three sets to enter the semifinal. Vaishnavi fought her way back into the match after being a set down to oust Shweta 1-6, 6-2, 6-1.

The top two seeds, Rishika Sunkara and Prerna Bhambri, also won their respective quarterfinal matches, keeping them on course for a clash in the final. Rishika handed out a 6-1, 6-2 drubbing to eighth seed Vaniya Dangwal while Prerna eased past Delhi girl Simran Kaur Handa 6-0, 6-4.

Rishika will take on third seed Natasha Palha, who beat Eettee Maehta 7-6(5), 6-3 in her quarterfinal. Prerna will be up against Vaishnavi in the other semifinal.

Top seeds Anvit Bendre and Abdullah Shaikh won the boys’ under-18 doubles title after posting a convincing 6-4, 6-0 win over Shailender Boniface and Gary Tokas in the final.

Results: Men’s singles (quarterfinals): Jeevan Nedenchezhiyan bt Ashwin Vijayaraghawan 6-1, 6-2; Ramkumar Ramanand bt Saurabh Singh 6-1, 6-2; Siddharth Rawat bt Vaidik Mushaw 1-6, 6-2, 6-1; Arjun Khade bt Mohit M Jayaprakash 7-5, 6-4.

Women’s singles (quarterfinals): Rishika Sunkara bt Vaniya Dangwal 6-1, 6-2; Natasha Palha bt Eetee Mehta 7-6 (5), 6-3;  Sri Vaishnavi Peddireddy bt Shweta C Rana 1-6, 6-2, 6-1; Prerna Bhambi bt Simran Sethi 6-0, 6-4.

Women’s doubles (semifinals): Treta Bhattacharya/ Natasha Pahla bt Tarannum Handa/ Manya Nagpal 6-1, 6-1; Prerna Bhambri/ Rishika Sunkara bt Sri Vaishnavi Peddireddy/ Prarthana Thombare 3-6, 6-1, 10-8.

Boys singles (quarterfinals): Karan Salwan bt Hardeep Sandhu 7-5, 6-4; Rishab Agarwal bt M Sai Nikhil 6-1, 6-0; Neeraj Elangovan bt A K Pardhasaradi 6-2, 7-5; Shaikh Abdullah bt Ranjeet Singh 6-0, 7-5.

Boys doubles (final): Anvit Bendre/ Abdullah Shaikh bt Shailender Boniface/ Gary Tokas 6-4, 6-0.

Girls singles (quarterfinals): Tarranum Handa bt Simran Sethi 6-3, 6-4; C Sai Samhitha bt Rimpledeep Kaur 6-4, 6-0; Pranjala Yadlapalli bt Amrita Mukherjee 6-3, 6-3; Nehal Sahni bt Himani Mor 6-4, 6-1.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox