Karnataka score 2nd win; TN thump Goa

Karnataka score 2nd win; TN thump Goa

On another rain-interrupted day, Karnataka registered their second successive win, this time beating Kerala by seven wickets, in the South Zone under-19 one-day tournament for the Vinoo Mankad Trophy at the BGS ground on Sunday.

After the rain reduced the match to a 25-overs-a-side affair, Kerala posted a competitive 143 for nine in 25  overs, riding on a well-made 84 by Sanju Vishwanadh. Karnataka, however, hardly broke a sweat as they replied with 144 for three in 23.1 overs.

Kranthi Kumar (56 n.o.) was the top-scorer while Shreyas Gopal (41) and KN Bharath (27 n.o.) chipped in with useful contributions. Karnataka bagged four points for their victory.
Elsewhere, Tamil Nadu trounced Goa by eight wickets to win their match with a bonus point while Andhra prevailed over Hyderabad by 17 runs to pocket four points.  

Brief scores: At BGS: Kerala: 143/9 in 25 overs (Sanju Vishwanadh 84; Prateek Jain 2-31, MG Naveen 3-41) lt to Karnataka: 144/3 in 23.1 overs (Shreyas Gopal 41, Kranthi Kumar 56 n.o., KN Bharath 27 n.o.). Karnataka: 4 points; Kerala: 0.

At Chinnaswamy: Goa: 77 all out in 30 overs (Aswin Crist 3-20, Koushik J 3-16) lt to Tamil Nadu: 78/2 in 18.3 overs (Sharukh Khan 33 n.o., Aparajith B 30 n.o.; Akshay Garg 2-33). TN: 5; Goa: -1.

At Aditya Global Academy: Andhra: 266 all out in 50 overs (K Bharath 36, K Shindhe 68, Ricky Bhui 105, CS Teja 2-45; Abhishek Ashok 5-55) bt Hyderabad: 249 all out in 48.3 overs (Tanmay Agarwal 41, Vihari G H 39, G Rahul Singh 43, V M Anandpally 49; A Ramesh Reddy 2-52, C Sneha Kishore 2-52, P Srikrishna 2-34). Andhra: 4; Hyderabad: 0.