Tanmay keeps Central alive

Tanmay keeps Central alive

Opener Tanmay Srivastava kept Central Zone’s hopes of Duleep Trophy title alive with a patient unbeaten 46 as his side ended the fourth day of the summit clash against East Zone at 74 for two in their first innings here on Wednesday.

Srivastava had already consumed 126 balls in his knock after resuming the day at individual score of seven and team total of 12 for no loss at the M A Chidambaram stadium.

The start of the fourth day was also delayed by rain and only 34 overs could be bowled on Wednesday. The first day was washed out without a ball being bowled, while the second and third days had seen 31.2 and 70.3 overs being played, respectively.

With just a day remaining in the match, the winner of Duleep Trophy is heading to be decided on the basis of first innings lead.

Central Zone now need 159 runs to win the title with eight first innings wickets in hand.
Srivastava and his opening partner Vineet Saxena, who resumed the day on five, added another 56 runs in 27.3 overs before the latter was out for 22 at the team score of 68.

Srivastava has scored five fours in his innings so far while Saxena hit four boundaries.
Central Zone suffered a jolt just three balls before the draw of stumps when captain Mohammad Kaif was dismissed for two, trapped in front by left-arm spinner Iresh Saxena, who took both the wickets.

Score Board

EAST ZONE (I Innings): Dheeraj Jadhav lbw J Saxena 25, Natraj Behera c B Kumar b J Saxena 22, Anustup Majumdar c J Saxena b B Kumar 13, Ishank Jaggi (not out) 100, Iresh Saxena b J Saxena 16, Saurabh Tiwary c Rawat b Kartik 0, Biplab Samantray c Kartik b J Saxena 0, Shiv Gautam c Rawat b P Kumar 34, Basant Mohanty c Rawat b Pandey 2, Ashok Dinda b Pandey 0, Alok Mangaraj b J Saxena 3. Extras (B-5, LB-5, W-1, NB-6) 17. Total (all out, 101.5 overs) 232.

Fall of wickets: 1-44, 2-55, 3-64, 4-113, 5-116, 6-117, 7-174, 8-190, 9-190.
Bowling: Praveen Kumar 21-8-41-1, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 13-5-37-1,  Ishwar Pandey 19-7-59-2, Jalaj Saxena 28.5-6-62-5, Murali Kartik 20-10-23-1.

CENTRAL ZONE (I Innings, O/n: 12/0): Tanmay Srivastava (not out) 46, Vineet Saxena c Mohanty b I Saxena 22, Mohammad Kaif lbw I Saxena 2, Robin Bist (not out) 0. Extras (NB-4) 4. Total (for 2 wkts, 36 overs) 74.

Fall of wickets: 1-68, 2-74.
Bowling: Ashok Dinda 9-3-24-0, Biplab Mohanty 10-3-18-0, Iresh Saxena 8-1-23-2, Alok Mangaraj 8-4-9-0, Biplab Samantray 1-1-0-0.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox