Obama third consecutive president to retain office

Barack Obama is the third consecutive president of the US to retain office after his predecessors George W. Bush and Bill Clinton.

Obama became the only African American to hold the office of president in 2009 and he has now defeated Republican Mitt Romney to get a second term in the White House.

His predecessor George W. Bush served as US president from 2001 to 2009.  
William J. Clinton, better known as Bill Clinton, became president in 1993 and went on to retain his office till 2001.

Before him, George H.W. Bush had a single term from 1989-93.
His predecessor Ronald Reagan won in 1981 and then retained the presidentship, with his term ending in 1989.

Three presidents before him - James Carter 1977-81, Gerald R. For

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on DeccanHerald.com

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)