SUCC (2) emerge champions

Swastic Union Cricket Club (2) pulled off an emphatic innings and 38-run win over Jaidur Cricketers to emerge champions in the KSCA Group I, Division II league for the MAT Acharya Shield here.

The victory not only helped SUCC log 31 points, same as that of runners-up Bangalore Cricketers, but also lift the title on the virtue of more wins. With three outright victories, SUCC pipped Bangalore Cricketers to the second place as they had only two wins.
Both SUCC and Bangalore Cricketers earned promotion to Division I.

SUCC’s victory was made possible by a superlative batting effort and some disciplined bowling. After dismissing Jaidur for 253 in 73.2 overs, SUCC declared their innings at 444 for two in just 57 overs. Abhinav Manohar (201 n.o., 183b, 19x4, 8x6), MK Manjunath (105, 84b, 16x4, 1x6) and Dikshanshu Negi (119 n.o., 75, 16x4, 2x6) treated Jaidur bowlers with little respect to help SUCC amass a big total.

Jaidur batsmen fared worse in the second innings, folding up for a paltry 153 in 53 overs. Nouthosh was the pick of SUCC bowlers with figures of 6/31.   

Brief scores: Jaidur Cricketers: 253 all out in 73.2 overs (Shaik Laiquddin 47, Shohaib Pathan 25, Bhavesh Gulecha 47, Naveen Yadav 44, Jeevan B 26; Pratik Jain 4-54, Mohit 2-42) and 153 all out in 53 overs (Bhavesh Gulecha 32, Naveen 37; Nouthosh 6-31, Devaraj Patil 2-16) lost to Swastic Union CC (2): 444/2 decl in 57 overs (Abhinav Manohar 201 n.o., MK Manjunath 105, Dikshanshu Negi 119 n.o.). Swastic Union CC (2): 5 points; Jaidur Cricketers: -1 point.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)