KVL to kick off on Nov 29

In a major boost to the sport, the State Volleyball Association on Monday announced the inaugural edition of the Karnataka Volley League (KVL) which will kick off on November 29.  

KVL, featuring top six volleyball teams from the State, to be played in the league format in four phases across four venues, will conclude on December 25. The tournament will have a prize money of Rs 8.2 lakh.

State ‘A’ Division champions Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL), runners-up Army Service Corps (ASC), semifinalists Karnataka State Police (KSP) and Madras Engineer Group (MEG) along with Life Insurance Corporation (LIC) and Sports Hostel, Bangalore will slug it out for the top honours. 

Each team can sign a maximum of three players — foreign, other states and clubs. “This is a big event. We are looking at bringing professionalism into volleyball. KVL will be an annual event from now,’’ Karnataka Volleyball Association general secretary K Nandakumar said during a press meet to announce the event.   
The first phase will be held at Kodandarampura from November 29 to December 3 which will be organised by B K Shivram, chairman of Youngsters Kabaddi Club while Sree Kanteerava stadium will host the second phase from December 11 to 15, organised by Nandakumar.

Third phase will take place at the Pallavi Mani Grounds in Bangarpet from December 16 to 20 and will be conducted by Pallavi Mani, who is a former player and organising secretary of KVL.

Rajajinagar Sports & Cultural Association president S Harish will organise the final phase from December 21-25 at the Swamy Vivekananda grounds in Rajajinagar.

Top-placed team in the first three centre will receive a cash prize of Rs 25,000 each while the second, third and fourth placed teams will get Rs 20,000, 15,000 and 10,000 respectively. There will also be a winning prize money of Rs 4,000 per match for the first three phases.

In the final phase, the winning club will take home Rs 50,000 while the second, third and fourth place finishers will receive Rs 40,000, 30,000 and 20,000 respectively. The winners of each match will get Rs 6,000 in the final phase.

 Some of the players from the Indian junior team, including Yeshwant from Andhra Pradesh, are expected to participate in the event.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)