Karun in State squad

Karun Nair has been named in the Karnataka squad which is set to take on Vidarbha in its Group ‘B’ Ranji Trophy match at the Gangotri Glades in Mysore from December 15 to 18.

The 21-year-old opener last played for Karnataka in the Vijay Hazare Trophy (South Zone) in February this year but was not in the best of touches in the couple of matches, notching up scores of 20 and 15 not out against Kerala and Goa respectively.

KB Pawan, who was surprisingly named the 12th man for Karnataka’s match against Delhi after originally being dropped from the squad, has been axed again.

K Gowtham and Ronit More found their places in the squad after the selection committee, which met on Wednesday, dropped paceman S L Akshay and spinner SK Moinuddin.

The squad: R Vinay Kumar (captain), Robin Uthappa, KL Rahul, Kunal Kapoor, Ganesh Satish, Manish Pandey, Stuart Binny (vice-captain), CM Gautam (wicketkeeper), Abhimanyu Mithun, KP Appanna, HS Sharath, Amit Verma, K Gowtham, Ronit More, Karun Nair. Batting coach: J Arun Kumar. Bowling coach: Mansur Ali Khan. Manager: Sanjay Desai. Physio: Shravan. Trainer: Vivek Ramakrishna. Video Analyst: Santosh.

Comments (+)