Chandhok, Narain win

India’s only two Formula One drivers, Narain Karthikeyan and Karun Chandhok, on Friday won the 2012 Race of Champions Asia and qualified for the Nations Cup where they will be in the same group as defending champions Germany comprising Sebastian Vettel and Michael Schumacher.

Team India defeated Japan 2-0 in the final after leading the group stage with four wins out of six races. Both the Indian drivers won three out of their four races en route to victory.

Karthikeyan, who drove for HRT this year, was thrilled to win on his first visit to the ROC.
“It is an incredible feeling to be a part of Team India’s success in the ROC Asia in only our first visit. It has been really tough with limited track time but at the end of the day we pulled it off,” said Karthikeyan.

Comments (+)