Tejaswini, Mahaveer win gold in shooting nationals

Rajasthan's Mahaveer Singh and Tejaswini Sawant of Maharashtra were among the shooters to have won the gold medals on the 10th day of the 56th National Shooting Championship here today.

In the standard pistol category, Singh shot 569 to bag the top prize ahead of Pemba Tamang (567) of Army and Samaresh Jung (563) of CISF at the Karni Singh Shooting Ranges.

Amanpreet Singh of ONGC shot 580 + 99.5 to clinch the gold medal in men's air pistol while the silver went to Jitu Rai of Army who scored 579 + 100. P N Prakash of Karnataka won the bronze medal with a score of 580 + 98.4.

In the 3-position women's event, Sawant shot 581 + 98.2 for the top prize while Raj Chaudhary of Army stood second with a score of 579 + 98.5. The bronze went to Lajja Gujarat's Gauswami who totalled 578 + 96.6.

In the air pistol junior category, Sarjeet Singh of Army won the gold medal after scoring 573 and he was followed by UP's Digvijay Malik (573) and Punjab's Achal Pratap Singh who shot an identical score.

In the air pistol youth competition, Achal bagged the gold with a score of 573, followed by UP's Ankit (565) and Vikas Dhama of Maharashtra, who shot 562. In the 3-position junior meet, Anjum Moudgil of NCC won the gold after scooring 571 while Tejaswini Muley (565) of Maharashtra bagged the silver. Priyal Keni (564), also from Maharashtra, had to be content with bronze.

In the women's skeet event, Aarti Singh Rao won the gold with the score of 70 out of 75, while Rashmee Rathore (67) won the silver. There was no bronze medallist in this event as only three shooters competed.

Comments (+)