Unmukt comes to the party

Cricket Ranji Trophy: Delhi reach 254/4 on opening day

Opener Unmukt Chand struck 82 while Mohit Sharma and Mithun Manhas too scored half-centuries as Delhi ended day one on 254 for four against Vidarbha in their Ranji Trophy Group B tie at the old VDCA ground on Saturday.

Opting to bat first on a placid track, Unmukt and skipper Shikhar Dhawan added 72 runs for the opening stand but medium-pacer Sandeep Singh breached through Dhawan’s defence. The visiting captain made 30.

Unmukt, who has often been guilty of throwing away his wicket, was a lot discreet on the day while playing his strokes as he batted for more than four hours (252 minutes) facing 161 balls in the process. Unmukt’s innings had 13 fours and a six.

The second-wicket partnership between Unmukt and another youngster Mohit Sharma (53, 135b, 8x4) was the most productive one for the day as they added 101 runs for the second wicket.

As Delhi were cruising along at 173 for one, Unmukt was dismissed by medium-pacer Shrikant Wagh with veteran Sairaj Bahutule taking the catch. Left-hander Mohit, who looked good for a big score, got one from offie Akashay Wakhare that straightened after pitching.

From 173 for one, there was a mini-slump as Delhi were reduced to 186 for three before veteran Mithun Manhas and young Vaibhav Rawal put together a 63-run stand. Manhas hit his 43rd first-class half-century which was laced with six fours and a six. He also completed 700 runs in the current season. He became Wagh’s second victim after being caught by Hemang Badani.

Delhi have Rawal (16 batting) at crease in the company of nightwatchman Vikas Tokas. With likes of Rajat Bhatia, Sumit Narwal and Punit Bisht still to come, Delhi will be eyeing a first innings total in excess of 450.


Delhi (I Innings): Unmukt Chand c Bahutule b Wagh 82, Shikhar Dhawan b Singh 30, Mohit Sharma lbw Wakhare 53, Mithun Manhas     c Badani b Wagh 54, Viabhav Rawal (batting) 16, Vikas Tokas (batting) 5; Extras (LB-11, NB-3) 14.
Total (for 4 wickets, 90 overs) 254.
Fall of wickets: 1-72, 2-173, 3-186, 4-249.
Bowling: Sandeep Singh 17-6-35-1, Shrikant Wagh 21-6-42-2, Amol Jungade 15-5-40-0, Faiz Fazal 3-0-17-0, Akshay Wakhare 20-3-53-1, Sairaj Bahutule 11-1-42-0, Gaurav Upadhyaya 3-0-14-0.

Comments (+)