Panel to make syllabi for minority varsities

Last Updated 10 January 2013, 18:53 IST

The Minority Affairs Ministry has constituted a committee to prepare syllabus, curricula and statute of the proposed universities to be established for the benefit of students belonging to minority communities in five states including one in Karnataka.

The four-member committee will be headed by the Indian Council of Social Sciences and Research chairman and former chief of the University Grants Commission Sukhadeo Thorat.
“The committee will work out modules, syllabus and statutes of the proposed universities, official sources in the Ministry said.

Former vice chancellor of the Karnataka University, Dharwad, A M Pathan and Vice Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University Lt Gen (retd) Zameer Uddin Shah are the members. The committee has been asked to give its report by mid-February this year.

The varsities are proposed to be set up in public-private-partnership framework. Of the five varsities, the proposal is for one each in Bihar, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and Srirangapatna in Karnataka.

The location of the fifth university, exclusively for women, is yet to be finalised.
The Centre has proposed to name the varsity to be opened at Srirangapatna after Tipu Sultan, prompting strong objections from some quarters.   “Our stand on this issue continues to be same. The proposed University will be named after Tipu Sultan,” Minority Affairs Minister K Rehman Khan said. 

(Published 10 January 2013, 18:53 IST)

Follow us on