Harshit, Rohit crowned champions

Harshit Aggarwal and Rohit M clinched the boys’ under-19 and under-13 titles in the Chettinad Cement 5-Star State-ranking badminton tournament at the Sadashivanagar Club courts here on Wednesday.

Unseeded Harshit of NGV rallied to pull off an upset 12-21, 24-22, 21-18 win over top seed and club-mate Sankeerth B R in the final.

Top seed Rohit of WPBA edged out second seed Tejas Sanjay Kallolkar of Belgavi 20-22, 21-17, 21-18 in the U-13 summit clash.

Sankeerth made amends by triumphing in the U-17 singles final. The second seed got the better of top seed Akashraj Murthy of NGV 22-20, 21-10.

Prakash Padukone Badminton Academy’s Rahul Bharadwaj BM took home the boys’ under-15 title.
Rahul proved too good for Saif Ali of BBCE 21-9, 21-8 in the final.

Results (all finals, prefix denotes seeding): Boys: U-19: Harshit Aggarwal (NGV) bt 1-Sankeerth BR (NGV) 12-21, 24-22, 21-18. U-17: 2-Sankeerth BR (NGV) bt 1-Akashraj Murthy (NGV) 22-20, 21-10. U-15: 2-Rahul Bharadwaj BM (PPBA)bt Saif Ali (BBCE) 21-9, 21-8. U-13: 1-Rohit M (WPBA) bt 2-Tejas Sanjay Kallolkar (Belgavi) 20-22, 21-17, 21-18.

Girls: U-15: 2-Apeksha Nayak (PPBA) bt 1-Archana Pai (PPBA) 21-7, 21-14. U-13: 2-Shivani A Pathi (I Sports) bt 4-Drithi Yatheesh (INC) 21-16, 18-21, 21-16.

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​ dhfeedback@deccanherald.co.in

Thanks for your support!