Lyngkhoi, Lalita for Asian Marathon

Mumbai Marathon winners, Binning Lyngkhoi and Lalita Babbar, will represent India in the men’s and women’s section respectively of the 14th Asian Marathon Championship to be held in Hong Kong on February 24.

Armyman Lyngkhoi and Babbar had emerged Indian winners in the Mumbai Mara­thon last month. Meanwhile, national record holder K T Irfan has been selected to represent the country in the IAAF Race Walking Challenge to be held at Taicang in China on March 1.

Gaurav Kumari, who had finished second in 20km in the inaugural National Race Walking Championships with a timing of 1::43:16, will represent India in the women’s category.
Irfan had finished a creditable 10th in the 2012 London Olympics while setting a national record of 1:20:21.

Winners in men’s and women’s categories of the inaugural National Race walking championships in 20km event in Patiala, Gurmeet Singh and Kushbir Kaur will spearhead the Indian challenge in the Asian 20km Race Walking Championships to be held at Naomi City in Japan on March 10.

Besides Gurmeet, who had won silver in the same event last year, other Indian men taking part in the event are Chandan Singh, Babubhai Panucha, Baljinder Singh and Surinder Singh. Deepmala will be the other Indian woman in the fray.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0