Ashwini takes U-10 crown

Ashwini takes U-10 crown

 Ashwini Bhat makes a return during her U-10 final victory over Prarthana Anand on Sunday. DH photo

In a completely one-sided final in which Ashwini stamped her authority in no uncertain terms, Prarthana Anand offered no more than token resistance on her way to an 8-21, 6-21 defeat.

Ashwini also won through to the semifinals of the under-13 category, with a slightly hard-fought win over Archana Pai 21-14, 21-18. Joining her in the last four were Mahima Agarwal, Apeksha Nayak and Chinmayi Venkatesh, the latter having to put her best foot forward to quell a strong challenge from Aditi D 14-21, 21-14, 21-13.

There was some consolation for Aditi when she linked up with Tanvee SK to clinch the doubles crown in the under-13 category. Aditi and Tanvee overcame Archana Pai and Apeksha Nayak 21-12, 21-16 in the title clash.

Results: Boys: U-10, quarterfinals: BS Shantanu bt Nadhir 21-8, 21-8; Ayush bt Vishwas V Gautam 21-12, 21-15; Vishnu R Paura bt Shivadeep 21-16, 21-8; Amogh R Gupta bt Zuhayr 21-10, 21-12.

Doubles, final: Amogh R Gupta/Nakul N Rao bt Avinash M/BS Shantanu 21-14, 21-14.
U-13, quarterfinals: Sudeep Suresh bt Abhishek R 21-19, 21-15; BR Sankeerth bt Syed Saad Ali 21-15, 21-8; Daniel S Parid bt A Likhith 21-16, 21-14; Sahil Sipani bt Vishal R Bhat 21-13, 21-16.

U-16, quarterfinals: S Sidarth bt Vishal R Bhat 21-13, 21-12; Akhilesh Moktali bt Daniel Farid 21-18, 21-19; Kaustubh Narayan bt Sudeep Suresh 21-10, 21-15; Nishanth M bt Harshith Agarwal 21-13, 21-17.

Girls: U-10, final: K Ashwini Bhat bt Prarthana Anand 21-8, 21-6.
U-13, quarterfinals: Mahima Agarwal bt Tanvee SK 21-14, 21-13; Apeksha Nayak bt Rachitha R Patil 21-18, 23-21; Chinmayi Venkatesh bt Aditi D 14-21, 21-14, 21-13; K Ashwini Bhat bt Archana Pai 21-14, 21-18.

Doubles, final: Tanvee SK/Aditi D bt Archana Pai/Apeksha Nayak 21-12, 21-16.
U-16, quarterfinals: Sindhu Bharadwaj bt Mahima Agarwal 21-12, 21-14; Mira Mahadevan bt Rea Johl 21-8, 21-11; Priya Prakash w/o Ashi Gupta; Anisha D Karumbaiah bt Syeda Saadhat Arsheen 21-17, 21-18.

Doubles, final: Syeda Saadhat Arsheen/Mahima Agarwal bt Mytreyi/Manya S 21-15, 21-23, 21-16.