Krithika, Veda star in huge win for KIOC in title round

Krithika, Veda star in huge win for KIOC in title round

Krithika made 52 and Veda top-scored with an unbeaten 65 as KIOC made a challenging 253 for seven in their 50 overs. Falcons crumbled to 126 all out, Akanksha picking up three for 29 and being well supported by Vanitha (2/37) and Saba (2/21).

Brief scores: KIOC: 253/7 in 50 ov-ers (Krithika Hariharan 52, Karuna Ja-in 30, Vanitha 37, Veda K 65 n.o., Sha-rmila 38; Spoorthi 2-98, Sunitha 2-95) bt Falcon SC: 126 all out in 42.5 overs (Sunitha 45; Vanitha 2-37, Akanksha 3-29, Saba 2-21).

Tumkur win big

Tumkur Zone completed a ten-wicket rout of Raichur Zone in their KSCA inter-zonal under-16 cricket tournament at the NAL grounds.

Overnight 204 for nine in response to Raichur’s 101 all out, Tumkur extended their first innings to 224 for a lead of 123, and then shot their opponents out for just 127.

Prasanna K followed up first-innings figures of three for 14 with another three-wicket haul as Raichur lasted no more than 46.2 overs.

Tumkur knocked off the five runs needed for victory in just eight deliveries to pocket the five full points on offer.

The other match between President’s XI and Mysore Zone ended in a tense draw at the RWF grounds, the former clinching first-innings points by virtue of their 12-run advantage.

Beginning the day on ten without loss in response to the President’s XI total of 306 for five, Mysore rode on MG Naveen’s 104 (149b, 18x4) to close in on their rivals, but off-spinner Daivik Viswanath took four for 90 to keep them down to 294 when they were dismissed in the 81st over.

Brief scores: At NAL grounds: Raichur Zone: 101 all out in 39.3 overs and 127 all out in 46.2 overs (Washim Soudagar 31; Ausresh H Karani 2-37, Prasanna K 3-22) lt to Tumkur Zone: 224 all out in 61.5 overs (Bharath J 27, K Prasanna 30, Akshay Prasad BT 36; Anand Kumar 2-25, Girish Kuntoji 3-20, Rahul Raj 2-62) and 7/0 in 1.2 overs. Tumkur Zone 5 pts, Raichur 0.

At RWF grounds: President’s XI: 306/5 in 90 overs drew Mysore Zone: 294 all out in 80.2 overs (Kiran HR 39, MG Naveen 104, A Karthika 46 n.o.; AS Puneeth 2-50, Daivik Viswanath 4-90). President’s XI 3 pts, Mysore 1.