83 pc voting in Periyapatna election

83 pc voting  in Periyapatna election

A whopping 83.84 per cent of the electorate exercised their franchise in the election to the Periyapatna Assembly constituency of the district on Tuesday.

The voting passed off peacefully, barring minor incidents.

Polling started 45 minutes late at the Pete Beedhi and Koppa booths as the electronic voting machines (EVM) developed a snag.

Besides, Congress and JD(S) workers clashed over a trivial reason at Punada village in the constituency. Congress candidate K Venkatesh was disallowed from performing pooja to the EVM at the Kittur voting centre, when he came there to cast his vote.

The fate of K Venkatesh, JD(S) candidate K Mahadev, BJP nominee R T Satish and  ther candidates will be known on May 31, the day of counting. 

The May 5 election in the constituency had been postponed, following the death of BJP candidate Sannamogegowda.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)