In AP, three top Congress leaders resign

In AP, three top Congress leaders resign

In AP, three top Congress leaders resign

In a psychological setback to the Congress in Andhra Pradesh, former Congress Working Committee member and senior party leader from Telangana K Keshava Rao and MPs G Vivekanand and M Jagannatham on Thursday announced their decision to join the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS).

The announcement came after the expiry of the deadline set for the party leadership to take a decision on the raging demand for a separate Telangana state.

The trio made the announcement after a meeting with TRS founder-president and MP K Chandrasekhara Rao.

“We have run out of patience. We waited for the Congress to take a favourable decision in deference to the wishes of the people of Telangana. But, there has been no response,” Jagannatham, who represents Nagarkurnool constituency said.

They will join the TRS at a public meeting here on June 2. According to sources, they have been promised tickets for the next general election.

“We cannot go against the sentiments of the Telangana people. We will not be party to the betrayal of the statehood cause. The Congress has failed to keep up its promise to the people of Telangana,” Vivekanand, who represents Peddapalli constituency, said.
The MPs are Dalit leaders with significant following within their constituencies.

Vivekanand’s brother and former state minister G Vinod also decided to join the TRS. Vinod is also the president of the Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA).