Karnataka move into quarterfinals

Karnataka move into quarterfinals

Karnataka defeated Services Sports Control Board (SSCB) 4-2 in a Pool C match to complete the quarterfinal line-up of the third Hockey India Senior Men’s National Championship, here on Friday.

Karnataka, who led 2-0 at the half time, scored through SK Uthappa (17th), Mohan Muthanna (23rd), MG Poonacha (39th) and MB Aiyappa (58th), while Johnny Jasrotia (48th) and Ignace Tirkey (59th) scored for SSCB.

In the quarterfinals, Air India will take on Railways, Haryana will face Chandigarh, Punjab will play Jharkhand and Karnataka will be up against Manipur.

Earlier in the day, Sports Authority of India (SAI) defeated Goa 22-1 in a Pool C encounter.
SAI scored through Sunil Yadav (5th, 25th), Kamlesh Yadav (7th, 13th, 16th), Neeraj (14th, 44th, 50th, 52nd), Maskalan Bhengra (15th), Pal Raju (20th, 58th), Sunil (30th, 40th, 70th), Deepak Yadav (43rd, 55th, 59th, 86th, 69th) and Naveen (61st, 67th) while Amar Bahadur (10th) scored the only goal for Goa.

In Pool E, Jharkhand beat Himachal Pradesh 3-1.

Shashi Topno and Anix Xaxa (2) scored for Jharkhand while Udham Preet Singh netted for Himachal Pradesh who were left to rue their misses in the end.