Three engineering colleges to set up Centres of Excellence

Three engineering colleges to set up Centres of Excellence

Union govt to grant Rs 5 crore to each institution to conduct research

Three unaided engineering colleges in the State have been selected by the Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD) to set up ‘Centres of Excellence’ to improve the quality of research and development in the institutions.

Higher Education Minister R V Deshpande told reporters here on Tuesday that Bangalore-based PESIT and RV College of Engineering and Siddaganga Institute of Technology, Tumkur  have been selected by the MHRD under the Technical Education Quality Improvement Programme (TEQIP) Phase—2 to set up Centres of Excellence for multidisciplinary research in specific thematic areas.

The institutions will get a grant of Rs five crore each. A total of 30 such Centres of Excellence are being set up in the country. PESIT, in its proposal, has sought to set up a Centre of Excellence on “Knowledge Analytical and Ontological Engineering,” that seeks to use e-teaching content available in English on the world wide web in rural schools using inexpensive devices like the Akash tablet to improve the quality of teaching. The Centre also proposes to develop computing infrastructure for use of Indian languages on mobile communications among others.

Siddaganaga Institute of Technology has proposed to set up a Centre of Excellence in nanotechnology.

The Centre’s roadmap envisions self-sustaining research, involving 40 research scholars and 10 faculty in nanotechnology by 2017.

PhD programmes

RVCE has proposed a Centre of Excellence in macroelectronics. The Centre proposes to utilise interdisciplinary expertise and industry collaboration for research in 4G communication, antenna designs, vacuum nanoelectronics among others. Once established, the centres would offer PhD programmes for engineering students, said Deshpande.

Besides, the three engineering colleges, 16 more have been selected under TEQIP for improving quality of technical education to be imparted.

These institutions include University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering, Bangalore;  Jayachamarajendra College of Engineering, Mysore;  Poojya Doddappa Appa College of Engineering, Gulbarga; Malnad College of Engineering, Hassan; BMS College of Engineering, Bangalore; Basaveshwara Engineering College, Bagalkotl; Dr Ambedkar Institute of Technology, Bangalore; National Institute of Engineering, Mysore; Siddartha Institute of Technology, Tumkur; NMAM Institute of Technology, Nitte; M S Ramaiah Institute of Technology, Bangalore; SDM College of Engineering, Dharwad; Krishna Rajendra Silver Jubilee Institute of Technology, Bangalore; PES College of Engineering, Mandya; B V Bhoomaraddi College of Engineering, Hubli and Nitte Meenakshi Institute of Technology, Bangalore.

Engineering colleges have to apply with the HRD ministry and fulfil several eligibility criteria for inclusion under TEQIP.