No discussion on DRS, 5-run penalty if ball is changed

No discussion on DRS, 5-run penalty if ball is changed

No discussion on DRS, 5-run penalty if ball is changed

The BCCI again had its way as there was no specific discussions during ICC Cricket Committee Meeting on uniform implementation of DRS but recent ball change controversy during Champions Trophy in England prompted the parent body to take some strong measures.

"There was no specific discussions on the DRS issue," an ICC official told PTI today.
However the recent incident where umpire Aleem Dar changed the ball during an ICC Champions Trophy match between England and Sri Lanka when the home team was bowling might have prompted the Cricket Committee to recommend some strong measures including five-run penalty to batting team.

The committee has also recommended that bowling captain should be reported under ICC's Code of Conduct while the batsmen would have the prerogative of choosing the replacement ball.

As per press release,"The formal introduction of a two-step process when the umpire believes the condition of the ball has been changed, but there is no eyewitness to identify which player changed the condition of the ball:

i) Replace the ball and give the captain a first and final warning
ii) award a five-run penalty to the batting team, replace the ball (with the batsman to choose) and report the captain under the ICC Code of Conduct."

Some of the other recommendations include: :"TV Umpire review of a No ball on the fall of a wicket can now include waist-high full tosses and bouncers above shoulder height."

The final recommendation is introduction of 'Zing Wickets' (with flashing LEDs in the bails and stumps) are approved for use in ODI and T20I matches, subject to an independent assessment of the technology being received by the ICC.
The new ICC Playing Conditions will come into effect from 1 October 2013.

The IDI Board reviewed an inspection report by the ICC Venue Consultant on the venues for the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 and expressed its concern regarding the progress of construction and improvements to playing facilities in Cox's Bazar and Sylhet.

The Board noted that a further inspection and report is scheduled for August after which a final decision will be taken on the venues for the event.

The IDI Board also agreed to expand the ICC Women's World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 to a 10-team tournament. This means, the top three teams from the ICC Women's World Twenty20 Qualifier 2013 to be held in Dublin, Ireland, from 23-31 July will now qualify and will join Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and West Indies in the tournament finals.

Afghanistan was confirmed as the 37th Associate Member of the ICC while Romania was accepted as an Affiliate Member.

Major Global Events

ICC World Twenty20 2016 – Hosts BCCI (India)
**ICC World Test Championship 2017 – Hosts ECB (UK)
ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 – ECB (UK)
ICC World Twenty20 2020 – Cricket Australia (Australia)
ICC World Test Championship 2021 – BCCI (India)
ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 – BCCI (India).