Sri Lanka win rain-curtailed game

Sri Lanka win rain-curtailed game

 Rangana Herath took two crucial wickets as Sri Lanka defeated South Africa in the rain-affected one-dayer in Colombo on Tuesday, taking a 2-0 lead in the five-match series.

South Africa, set a revised target of 176 from 29 overs, were 104-5 in 21 overs when a heavy downpour at the Premadasa stadium forced the match to be called off.

With 121-5 being the par score at that stage, the Proteas lost by 17 runs to suffer their second defeat in the series following the 180-run loss in the first match last Saturday.
Left-arm spinner Herath trapped opener Alviro Petersen leg-before for 24, and had Faf du Plessis caught behind to reduce the Proteas to 69-5 by the 14th over.

David Miller (22 not out) and Ryan McLaren (14 not out) put on 35 runs for the unbroken sixth wicket before rain ruined their hopes of pulling off an upset. South Africa were dealt another blow as star batsman Hashim Amla injured his left knee while fielding and was rushed to hospital for precautionary scans.

Tharanga c Peterson b Morkel    3
Dilshan c de Villiers b Morkel    43
Sangakkara c P’sen b Phangiso    37
Jayawardene b Peterson    17
Thirimanne lbw McLaren    13
Chandimal c du Plessis b Morkel    43
Mubarak c & b Duminy    8
Perera c sub (Ingram) b Morris    11
Herath (run out)    13
Eranga (not out)    7
Malinga (not out)    0
Extras (LB-6, W-20, NB-2)    28
Total (for 9 wkts, 49.2 overs)    223
Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-66, 3-106, 4-120, 5-143, 6-167, 7-192, 8-205, 9-220.
Bowling: Peterson 10-0-39-1, M Morkel 10-0-34-3, Morris 7-0-38-1, McLaren 9.2-0-45-1, Phangiso 10-0-52-1, Duminy 3-0-9-1.
SOUTH AFRICA (Target: 176 runs from 29 overs)
Petersen lbw Herath    24
Peterson b Malinga    3
Duminy c Sangakkara b Perera    15
De Villiers lbw Dilshan    12
Du Plessis c Sangakkara b Herath    8
Miller (not out)    22
McLaren (not out)    14
Extras (LB-2, W-4)    6
Total (for 5 wkts, 21 overs)    104
Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-39, 3-55, 4-67, 5-69. Bowling: Lasith Malinga 3-0-17-1, Shamind Eranga 4-0-21-0, Thisara Perera 4-0-23-1, Rangana Herath 4-0-16-2, Tillakaratne Dilshan 5-0-20-1, Jehan Mubarak 1-0-5-0.

Comments (+)