Franklin secures third gold

Franklin secures third gold

American teenager Missy Franklin won the women's 200 metres freestyle gold at the world championships on Wednesday.

Franklin touched in one minute 54.81 seconds, securing the 18-year-old's third gold of the competition at the hilltop Palau Sant Jordi.

Italy's Federica Pellegrini, the 2009 and 2011 champion and world record holder, took silver in 1:55.14 and Camille Muffat of France won bronze in 1:55.72.  

In the men’s section, Chad le Clos of South Africa won the men's 200 metres butterfly gold.

Le Clos, the 2012 Olympic champion, touched in a time of one minute 54.32 seconds, with Pawel Korzeniowski of Poland taking silver in 1:55.01 and Wu Peng of China bronze in 1:55.09.

Le Clos, 21, stunned decorated American Michael Phelps to win the 200 butterfly gold in London last year.

South Africa's Cameron Van Der Burgh won the men's 50 metres breaststroke gold.
Van Der Burgh touched in a time of 26.77 seconds, a tenth outside the world record he set in Rome in 2009, with Australia's Christian Sprenger taking silver in 26.78 and Van Der Burgh's compatriot Giulio Zorzi bronze in 27.04.

It was the second gold of a fine session for South Africa after Chad le Clos won the men's 200 metres butterfly earlier on Wednesday.

Sprenger pipped Van Der Burgh to win the 100 metres breaststroke gold on Monday.
The 50 breaststroke does not feature in the Olympics.

Sun Yang of China won a second consecutive men's 800 metres freestyle gold, his second title of the week following Sunday's triumph in the 400 freestyle.

Olympic champion in London last year at 400 and 1,500 metres, Sun touched in a time of seven minutes 41.36 seconds, with American Michael McBroom taking silver in 7:43.60 and Ryan Cochrane of Canada bronze in 7:43.70.

Indians disappoint

Indians Virdhawal Khade and Pooja Alva disasppointed during their Wednesday morning heats. While Khade clocked 53.47 seconds in the men’s 100M freestyle to finish 62nd, Pooja timed 2:31.76 in the 200M butterfly event to end 25th, just ahead of two more competitors.

Results (all finals): Men: 50M breaststroke: Cameron van der Burgh (RSA) 26.77, 1; Christian Sprenger (Aus) 26.78, 2; Giulio Zorzi (RSA) 27.04, 3.

200M butterfly: Chad Le Clos (RSA) 1:54.32, 1; Pawel Korzeniowski (Pol) 1:55.01, 2; Wu Peng (Chn) 1:55.09, 3.

800M freestyle: Sun Yang (Chn) 7:41.36, 1; Michael McBroom (US) 7:43.60, 2; Ryan Cochrane (Can) 7:43.70, 3.

Women: 200M freestyle: Missy Franklin (US) 1:54.81, 1; Federica Pellegrini (Ita) 1:55.14, 2; Camille Muffat (Fra) 1:55.72, 3.

Comments (+)