Six BSP MLAs served notice for defecting to Congress

Six BSP MLAs served notice for defecting to Congress

A single bench headed by Justice R S Rathore issued notices to the MLAs, Speaker and the state government on Monday asking them to submit their replies by November 24.

Petitioner Sri Krishna had objected to Rajasthan Speaker Deependra Singh Shekhawat accepting the claim of the BSP legislators that they were part of the Congress after their defection on April 4 this year. The Speaker had accepted and recognised them as members of ruling Congress on April 9.

The MLAs who defected  were Giriraj Singh, Murari Lal Meena, Rajkumar Sharma, Rajendra Gudha, Ramesh Meena and Ramkesh Meena.

Petitioner’s counsel Hemant Nahta argued that the Speaker could not pass the orders accepting claim of the MLAs without jurisdiction and hence it was null and void.

The Speaker had the sole authority to accept or reject the claim of defecting MLAS only when it is questioned or clarifications sought, he added.


The BSP legislators had joined the Congress alleging that the large-scale corruption in distribution of tickets in their original party was the reason for their decision to part ways with party supremo Mayawati.

Their decision, which obviously weakened Mayawati’s growing base in Rajasthan, proved a shot in the arm for Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, who could feel relieved on stability ground.

These MLAs had joined the Congress ahead of the Lok Sabha poll helping the ruling Congress attain absolute majority by touching the 102- mark in the 200-member Rajasthan Assembly.

The Congress had won 96 seats in the December 2008 elections and Ashok Gehlot had formed the government with the help of BSP and independents.