EC announces poll schedule for five states

EC announces poll schedule for five states

Assembly elections will be held in Delhi, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram and Chhattisgarh from November 11, the Election Commission announced today.

While Chhattisgarh will have a two-phase polling on November 11 and November 19, the remaining states will have a single-phase poll.

Delhi and Mizoram will go to polls on December 4, Madhya Pradesh on November 25 and Rajasthan on December one.

Counting for all the five states will take place on December 8, Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath told a press conference here.

For the first time, voters will have an option of 'none of the above' (NOTA) in these polls where they can decide not to vote any of the candidates in the fray.

Sampath said there were 11 crore voters spread over 630 constituencies in these five states.

Voting will take place in 1.30 lakh polling stations, the CEC said, adding the Model Code of Conduct comes into effect immediately.

Replying to a question on disqualification of convicted MPs, he said the Election Commission will announce vacancies only after they are notified by Rajya Sabha Chairman and Lok Sabha Speaker. 

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)