Celebrities applaud Kejriwal

Celebrities applaud Kejriwal

Social media went viral with praises for the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) for its spectacular electoral debut, while some advised other political parties to learn a lesson from the outcome of the Delhi Assembly polls.

As the results poured in, Bollywood celebrities, writers and activists tweeted by applauding Arvind Kejriwal and his team, while some political leaders expressed the urgent need for introspection.

Anupam Kher: Congratulations to Arvind Kejriwal & AAP for their victory.

Congratulations to Anna, Kiran Bedi & millions for starting the movement.

Former IPS officer-turned-activist Kiran Bedi, who was in the core team of India Against Corruption before Kejriwal formed the AAP, said: “Youth+others who had no space in political life of Indian politics found space in AAP. This is what will make Indian democracy participatory,” Bedi tweeted.

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah also said he picked up lessons for the 2014 general elections.

“Notes to self for #2014 never underestimate the underdog/newcomer with a fresh face and message... big public meetings don't always mean votes but poorly attended ones definitely indicate big trouble,” he wrote. Abdullah also congratulated Kejriwal.

Pritish Nandy tweeted: “Welcome to mainstream politics AAP. Arvind Kejriwal has proved his point. India is restless for change.Elections of the future will be fought on issues. Not on personalities, money or muscle power. Not on identity politics. AAP proved that. AAP shows the way forward for India. Anything is possible. Don't give up hope in the people of India.”

Gul Panag: Numbers still coming in, but AAP's performance is outstanding, considering party is barely a year old.

Chetan Bhagat: Sheila Dikshit, CM to Sheila Dikshit, nobody. A Kejriwal, nobody to Arvind Kejriwal, MLA leader of second largest party in Delhi.

Dia Mirza: “They’ve mocked, scoffed and ridiculed AAP, now they know. Well done. Good start to a very testing journey ahead. Best Wishes!

Comments (+)