Karnataka enter final

Hosts Karnataka registered an emphatic 25-4, 25-20, 25-17 victory over Andhra Pradesh to enter the women’s final of the ninth South Zone youth volleyball championships here on Saturday.

Karnataka will play Tamil Nadu in the final on Sunday.  Setter Pushpa produced a top class performance in the first set as she helped Karnataka race to an early lead. With Andhra Pradesh offering no resistance, Karnataka wrapped up the set at 25-4.

In the second set, Andhra Pradesh showed a fair amount of resilience levelling scores at 14-14. Shreesha Banu and G Deena did the star turn for the visitors to keep them in the hunt before the Karnataka spikers got their act together.

Varishta joined forces with Aishwarya as Karnataka closed out the set at 25-20.

Andhra Pradesh played hard in the third set but Karnataka pulled up their socks to take the set 25-17 and wrap up the match.  Andhra Pradesh finished third while Pondicherry, who earlier lost to Tamil Nadu 25-12, 25-6, 25-17, ended at the bottom.

In the men’s section, Tamil Nadu defeated Pondicherry 25-13, 25-19, 25-19. Pondicherry finished fourth behind Karnataka. The final will be between Tamil Nadu and AP.


Men: Tamil Nadu bt Pondicherry 25-13, 25-19, 25-19. Women: Tamil Nadu bt Pondicherry 25-12, 25-6, 25-17; Karnataka bt Andhra Pradesh 25-4, 25-20, 25-17.

Comments (+)