PSPB golf to kick off today

 One of the country’s major amateur golfing competition, the 34th PSPB Inter-Unit Championship, will kick off at the Eagleton Golf Resort on Thursday.

The two-day event will see neary 118 golfers, representing nine Petroleum bodies, vying for team as well as individual honours at the par-72 course. Each team will comprise a minimum of three players and a maximum of five with the top three scores (gross) of the day considered for official scoring.

With a perfect mix of youth and experience, defending champions GAIL appear good on paper to extend their reign for another year. Reigning National amateur champion Pratap Atwal the seasoned Jasjeet Singh and in-form Ladies golfer Gauri Monga make a very formidable GAIL line-up.

Top amateurs Syed Saqib Ahmed, Aman Raj and Piyush Sangwan, representing ONGC ‘A’, pose the toughest challenge for GAIL while OIL ‘A’ with Manav Das, Viraj Madappa and Udayan Mane have enough ammunition to go the distance.

Other prominent golfers who would be seen in action are Trishul Chinnappa, Simarjeet Singh, Ankur Chadha and women’s national champion Gurbani Singh.

The teams that will be contesting are GAIL, ONGC, IOCL, IOCL (AOD), BPCL, OIL, HPCL, EOL and Petronet LNG.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0